Board Directors and nominating


The Aqwest Board ensures the organisation achieves excellence in the provision of water services to its customers and meets regulatory and statutory compliance.

The Board is made up of highly skilled and experienced directors who reflect the diversity of the local Bunbury community.

In 2020, the Board is embarking on the implementation of a Reconciliation Action Plan which will include practical steps to guide Aqwest's contribution to reconciliation in the workplace and in the local community.

Aqwest advertises for Board vacancies via an expression of interest process in local newspapers. Directors are nominated by the Minister for Water and appointed by the Governor of Western Australia for three year terms with two positions becoming vacant each year on a rotational basis.



Bunbury businessman Stan Liaros is the Chief Executive Officer of the Apprentice and Traineeship Company and the former Chairman of Aqwest, the South West Development Commission and the South West Academy of Sport. He was also the Senior Vice President of the South West Football League.


Rhonda Norman has had a long and distinguished career in the Australian Public Service. She has advanced skills and experience in the areas of human resource management, training, stakeholder engagement, strategic planning and policy development. As a proud Noongar Wilman woman, she has held responsibility for the delivery of a range of cultural awareness and mentor training programs Australia wide.


Tresslyn Smith is a Councillor and Deputy Mayor of the City of Bunbury and has a particular interest in the consumer affairs aspects of water supply and delivering public services. She is a strong supporter of water conservation initiatives and has a keen interest in the long term security and supply of the Yarragadee Aquifer. She gives a high priority to the awareness of environmental factors such as the effect of climate change and its impact on rainfall and rising sea levels.


Wendy Giles is a Bunbury City Councillor and the former Associate Dean of Edith Cowan University in Bunbury. She is also a member of the South Regional TAFE Governing Council.


Patricia Scaffidi is a retired Certified Practicing Accountant and has worked in a farming and property development business in Donnybrook and as the Financial Lead on business development and acquisition teams for Cristal Inorganic Chemicals and as the Chief Financial Officer for Bemax Mining Group. She is the Company Secretary for GP Down South.


Mick Murray is a former Member of Parliament, serving the Collie-Preston electorate, which includes Eaton, Dardanup, Australind and the outskirts of Bunbury, for 20 years before retiring in 2021. He is a former Minister for Seniors and Ageing; Volunteering; Sport and Recreation. He has lived in the South West all his life and is a passionate supporter of junior hockey and football.